Times are a changin’

8 Feb

I’m a second semester senior, I’m filling out the college papers, I’m prepping to leave, and my parents are pretty thrilled.

I thought getting a dog was about as drastic as the change would get, but my parents are all about this new life as empty-nesters. Except they’re not empty-nesters because I still live in the house.

Freud did a study that shows how last children fear change, and I certainly hate it. (That’s not really true about Freud but it might be)

Recently, the big thing is the home improvements. Improvement is a relative term.

Dad got rid of all the trim and fixtures in the house, which were brass, and now they’re all black. My world is spinning.

Also, the dining room which hasn’t been touched in the 18 years I’ve been in the house: PAINTED. The 90s blue wallpaper has been replaced with a double coat of paint, a new rug, and no more brass fixtures.

As far as style goes, it’s all good, I don’t really care. I’m just getting freaked out by all this post-child-in-house life.

If they touch the basement I’m running away.

7 Responses to “Times are a changin’”

  1. wmajchszak February 8, 2013 at 1:38 pm #

    How many gallons of paint do you think you’re worth to your parents?

  2. sleeharris February 8, 2013 at 1:49 pm #

    Erik, you don’t seem very open to change…

  3. parkerosullivan February 8, 2013 at 4:19 pm #

    You could aways just take all the brass and keep it in your room. Or melt it down and make a statue.

  4. bortzconnor February 8, 2013 at 6:41 pm #

    Loving the detail, I’m really feeling the dread of change around the house.

  5. hayeswilliam February 11, 2013 at 1:01 am #

    You should make a large brass cannon to defend your basement

    • lwiseman February 11, 2013 at 1:47 am #

      Coops and Parks, Why you so funny?

  6. lwiseman February 11, 2013 at 1:47 am #

    And Lol, RE: Freud. Probably true. Probably.

Leave a Reply

